Kolokassi (a traditional Cypriot dish)

According to my taste this is a delicious casserole meal.  According to my father’s opinion, this is just something to fill in stomach.  I think its worth trying it…

Here are the ingredients and the method of preparation:
 
 
Ingredients

1. 1kg pork cubes
2. 1kg taro (kolokassi)

3. 5 sticks of celery, chopped
4. 2 large onions, finely chopped
5. 1 cup tomato juice
6. ½ a cup of hot water
7. Salt & pepper to taste
8. Olive oil for frying
9. 1 tsp lemon juice

Preparation Method

To prepare cut the ends of kolokassi and peel the skin.
With a wet towel clean it. Never wash kolokassi with running water.
With a sharp knife, cut across (2 cm thick) halfway then break off. Repeat to the end. Note: if slices are cut all the way across without breaking off, the vegetable will melt while cooking.
Heat the olive oil in a saucepan and brown the meat (8 -10 minutes).
Transfer onto a dish.
Gently fry onion in olive oil until soft then add the kolokassi and celery. Fry all together for 5 – 10 minutes or until they start to change colour.
Add the lemon juice.
Pour tomato juice and hot water into the saucepan.
Add the pork cubes and season well. Ensure the food is covered in liquid (if not add some more hot water). Cover and simmer for 1-1 ½ hours until the liquid is reduced, and the meat and kolokassi becomes tender. Serve hot. 

You can serve kolokassi with radishes and Greek salad.
You can also cook kolokassi with koupepia.
My grandmother, Eftychia, always cooked these two dishes together, and believe me, it was delicious!!!!

“This recipe goes to Antonella, of Il Lupo Selvatico, who will be featuring it in Mediterranea, representing Cyprus.”

About eftychia2011

I am a working mother that loves cooking and baking.
This entry was posted in Various Dishes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Kolokassi (a traditional Cypriot dish)

  1. Ivy says:

    Efti, this is one of my favourite dishes. In Greece this root is not widely known as it is produced only on the island of Ikaria and the production is just enough for the needs of the island so we don’t get it in Athens. Whenever I come to Cyprus I make sure to bring along a couple of roots.

  2. we like kolokasi a lot in Lebanon also and this dish is one I would like to try with it; it sounds wonderful.

  3. Very interesting. We cook kolakassi (taro) separately, have never cooked it together with something else. I don’t know why we haven’t since it can be treated like potato and other root vegetables. Thanks a lot for the tip, will have to pass this on to my family!

  4. claypotclub says:

    I’ve never thought of using taro in a non Chinese dish. Is this the same kind they sell in an Asian market?

  5. Channon says:

    I will have to pick up a taro root next time I go to the International Market a few towns over. I have only ever eaten them as chips, but they are my favorite! Mom and I split the bag Terra Chips… she gets the sweet potatoes and parsnips and I get the yuca and taro root.
    Thanks for sharing!
    ChannonD

  6. Gosh! never eaten Taro root. I’ve seen it when I worked in London, but not so commonly available down here in Devon! Next time I see it I’ll buy some and try this recipe.

Leave a Reply

