Cauliflower and Potatoes, cooked in Red Wine

This is a casserole dish that my mother cooks often.  I tried cauliflower in several recipes, but I find this one the most delicious of all. 

If you love red wine in food, try this recipe.  Remember not to stir while cooking.

 Below you can find the ingredients and preparation instructions. Enjoy…!

Cauliflower and Potatoes, cooked in red wine
6 Servings
 
2 kg cauliflower, divided into florets
6 medium potatoes, peeled and chopped into quarters
4 large tomatoes peeled and mashed
½ cup of red dry wine (good quality)
1 ½ cup warm water
Salt and Black Pepper
 
For Frying
Vegetable Oil
 
Preparation Method
Heat vegetable oil in a casserole to 180ºC/350ºF, and fry potatoes in batches, until golden brown.  Remove from casserole and drain on kitchen paper (paper towels).
Do the same with cauliflower florets.
Remove vegetable oil from casserole and place in it the cauliflower and potatoes. Do not stir.
Add the mashed tomatoes, water and red wine; season with salt and pepper to taste.
Simmer for about 15-20 minutes.
The dish will be ready when juices are reduced to minimum.
About eftychia2011

I am a working mother that loves cooking and baking.
This entry was posted in Various Dishes. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Cauliflower and Potatoes, cooked in Red Wine

  1. Ivy says:

    My mother used to make kounoupidi giahni but don’t remember if she added wine to it. I surely would like to make this dish but my children hate cauliflower so I rarely cook it. Efti, I want to ask you what kind of vegetable oil do you use? My mother used fystikelaio (peanut oil). Do they still use it in Cyprus?

  2. eftychia2011 says:

    Yes we do. Actually this is what I use for vegetable oil. I think this is the best taste in vegetable oil nowdays in Cyprus. Olive oil is better but is much more expensive.

  3. Ivy says:

    I always cook with olive oil in Greece but peanut oil would be my first choice as it is healthy and has a high smoke point and it tastes great as well. Unfortunately we don’t find it in Greece.

  4. Celeste says:

    Mmmmm, we have a head of cauliflower in the fridge, and now we’ve got a delicious new recipe to pair it with. Thanks!

  5. I’ve always been fascinated with Greek and Cypriot dishes. I LOVE most of them. I like the simpleness of this one. Looks so comforting and tasty. Also relatively inexpensive to make. CHEERS!

  6. you know, I rarely buy cauliflower. But for some reason, I did just a day or so ago. lol

  7. eftychia2011 says:

    Thank you for visiting my site. You can find more updated recipes at my new blog: http://www.dreamofcakes.net

  8. jammychick says:

    Cauliflower and potatoes go really well together – it’s great to see another recipe to use them!

  9. mustardseed says:

    I love Greek food. We often make cauliflowers and potatoes but never paired it with wine! Sounds great though. Will surely try it out!

  10. akiasi says:

    Cauliflower and potatoes are naturally compatible. I like your recipe!

    Alaiyo

  11. Conor Bofin says:

    That looks lovely. I would not have thought of the wine and tomatoes as natural partners for the veg.
    Good one,
    Conor

  12. can’t wait to try it! a perfect winter dish! :)

Leave a Reply

